today’s daily text & thots

today’s readings…
Psalm 38:17-22
Exodus 29:31-30:16; Matthew 26:14-30

Psalm 38
15 LORD, I wait for you; you will answer, Lord my God.
21 LORD, do not forsake me; do not be far from me, my God.
22 Come quickly to help me, my Lord and my Savior.

The Old Testament scholar, Derek Kidner said this about Ps. 38:15 :
“David is outstanding in his ability to wait.”

If you study David’s life – from being anointed at a young age (teenager) by Samuel, to being hunted by Saul, to his Hebron time, to finally being anointed King of all Israel….
He had to wait & wait & wait (FOR YEARS & YEARS…)

I have been struck lately how hard it is for me to wait, and how difficult it is for others to wait as I observe those around me.
…to wait for a job
…to wait for marriage
…to wait for others to recognize me somehow
…to wait for my life to ‘get in order’ (whatever that means)
…to wait for others to see the leader that I think I am
…to wait for that relationship
…to wait on God for healing & restoration

So what I see happening at times — is that we take things into our own hands, instead of waiting for God’s timing.

Now, that is not to say that we simply acquiesce quietly to everything. On the contrary – we see David in verses 21 & 22 passionately petitioning God to act quickly and decisively.

However, I believe that David keeps this in balance…. waiting & petitioning. waiting & praying. waiting & hoping / expecting – but allowing God to work in God’s way & god’s timing.
That takes faith… great faith even.
…to believe and hope in god. & to wait.

Leave a Reply

