prayers for the week…

My Lord and my God,
Listening is hard for me.
I do not exactly mean hard,
for I understand that this is a matter of receiving rather than trying.
What I mean is that I am so action oriented,
so production driven,
that doing is easier for me than being.
I need your help if I am to be still and listen.
I would like to try.
I would like to learn how to sink down into the light of your presence
until I can become comfortable in that posture.
Help me try now.
Thank you. – Amen.
From Prayer by Richard Foster

HT: JR

Almighty God, you have built your Church upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ himself being the chief cornerstone: Grant us so to be joined together in unity of spirit by their teaching, that we may be made a holy temple acceptable to you; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

