Emotionally Healthy Preaching

read a good blog post on emotionally healthy preaching today

The first two points especially stood out to me:

1. This is not about us or our validation. It is not about people moving towards us but towards Jesus.

2. We must preach out of deep place of prayer as foundational to our preparation.

The first point made me wonder, how much when I speak – is it about me & my validation? It always is a turn off when I perceive that in another. I am sure it is the same when people perceive that in me.
Am I pointing people in the right direction? (hint: that pointing should not be directed towards me)

Also, a deep place of prayer (& dependence on the Spirit I would add) … really challenged me.

Leave a Reply

